Fritalian Farro

Fritalian Farro?

Confession: I am not a fan of left-overs or meal prepping, but I do it anyways because it’s healthy, affordable, and it saves me time. I have found a recipe though that I cannot live without and I am always ready to eat, this my friends is a rarity. I happened to stumble upon this recipe when I went over to a friends house, she had just cooked dinner and offered me some left-overs. She had just recently signed up for Hello Fresh and this faro recipe was featured. Maybe I love it because it pays homage to my French and Italian roots, or maybe its just so damn delicious. This recipe is so easy to make and enjoyable, my fiancé loves this recipe as much as I do.

Ingredients:

24 ounce Chicken Breast
1 cup Farro (Wheat)
3 Roma Tomatoes
2 tablespoon Herbs de Provence
2 tablespoon Balsamic Vinegar
2 unit Honey
1 unit Shallot
8-ounce Fresh Mozzarella (Milk)
2 tablespoon Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper

The amount listed above is for four people, when I make this for the week I use about 1 ½ to 2 pounds of chicken, a full bag of farro (I use the quick cook bag from Trader Joes), and anywhere between 8-16 oz of mozzarella cheese (depending on how I feel).

1.) Cook the farro, until tender. Drain and return to the pot.
2.) Wash and dry all produce. Dice the tomato. Halve, peel, and mince 1/4 cup shallots. Cut the mozzarella into small cubes.
3.) Butterfly the chicken; place your hand on top of one chicken breast, and slice into the middle of the meat. Stop before cutting all the way through. Open the chicken up like a book. Repeat with the other chicken breast. Season on all sides with herbes de Provence, salt, and pepper. * Lately I’ve been using chicken tenders and I season both sides with herbes de Provence, salt, and pepper.
4.) In a small bowl, whisk together the shallots, balsamic vinegar, honey, and a large drizzle of oil & season with salt and pepper.
5.)Heat a drizzle of oil in a large pan over high heat. Add the chicken. Cook 3-4 minutes per side. Remove from the pan and set aside.
6.) Toss the tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, and half the vinaigrette into the farro. Slice the chicken and serve on a bed of farro salad. Drizzle the remaining vinaigrette over the top and Bon appetite! * You may need to make more dressing, I always do, just depends on your preference.

One thought on “Fritalian Farro

Leave a Reply

