Sunday Brunch 


My boyfriend and I live for the weekends. Its our time to sleep in, slow down, and relish in each other’s company. We enjoyed our morning by making and devouring avocado toast. Avocado toast seems to be the “it” trend for breakfast, it’s healthy, hearty, and delicious.

What you’ll need:

Eggs

Hass avocado – if you can’t find a ripe avocado you can use store-bought guacamole, it’s just as good.

Bread – make sure you use a thick bread. I typically use Ezekiel bread. I’ve also used Italian bread and it works great too, a French baguette would be also perfect.

Salt

Pepper

Cheese – I took red baby bell cheese and crumbled it on top of the avocado and toast and then placed my egg on top. Brie cheese would be a perfect addition to the toast or any cheese of your liking.

Preparation: The hardest part about this recipe is achieving the perfect egg.

I like my eggs over-easy/over medium, I love a runny yolk. To achieve this , heat your pan on medium and spray with cooking oil ( I use coconut oil spray). After 2-3 minutes crack your eggs into the pan. Salt and pepper your eggs and then put a lid on the eggs. Let your eggs cook for about 5-7 minutes with the lid and remove. I take my eggs off once the white is starting to creep up on the yolk and the yolk doesn’t look as slimy.

Take your hass avocado, cut in half. To get the seed out take your knife and place it on the seed and it should pop right out. Mash your avocado in a bowl, add salt and pepper to your liking. You can also add garlic and lemon (which I did).

Toast your bread and spread the avocado on the toast. Place cheese on the toast and top with your egg. Bon appetite!

However you spend your Sunday, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

