Cannoli Dip

I don’t know about you, but I sure love a yummy dessert. I saw an online video about making a cannoli dip and I was intrigued. I decided to make it for Easter Dinner for my boyfriend’s family, they love a great dessert and cannoli dip is perfect for an Italian family. The recipe was very simple and delicious. I made it on Good Friday, planning to bring it on Easter Sunday, but I ended up doing a test run with the family since we had gotten together for Good Friday pizza. Let me tell you it was a major hit! I loved it, my dad loved it, and my boyfriend and his family loved it. I ended up making a second batch for Easter Sunday.

What you will need:

2 cups whole milk ricotta cheese

½ cup heavy cream

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

¾ cup powdered sugar

½ cup of (do this to your liking)chocolate chips and/or pistachios

Before using the ricotta cheese make sure you drain it. I covered it with paper towels and sat it in a colander to drain.   Combine ricotta cheese, vanilla extract, and powdered sugar in a bowl and mix.   I actually used a food processor, much easier and created such a creamy, smooth texture. Put the cannoli mixture to the side and create the whip cream with the heavy cream. Take a hand mixer (I used my KitchenAid stand mixer) and whip the cream until it has peaks and is fluffy. This took about three minutes for me with the mixer set on high. Take your whip cream and fold it into the cannoli mixture. Mix in chocolate chips and pistachios, or anything else you would like. Serve the dip with cookies and be prepared to amaze your guests. I served my dip with waffle cone cookies and Pepperidge Farm Milano cookies.

Traditionally, cannoli is made with chocolate chips and/or pistachios.   You could sub out the vanilla extract for orange flavoring or use vanilla extract and add cinnamon.

I’ve never worked with mascarpone cheese, so next time I make this dish instead of using 2 cups ricotta cheese, I’m going to use 1 cup ricotta cheese and 1 cup mascarpone.   The consistency of this dip was so smooth. I would definitely use it as a cannoli filling or even as an icing for a cake. If you want to make cannoli the easy way go to your local Italian market and you can find cannoli shells. Take your mixture and fill the cannoli shells. Or you could attempt to make your own cannoli shells. I’m sure this cannoli dip will be an instant hit at your next gathering.

Leave a Reply

